Recognizing Nursing Excellence

Salinas Valley Health recognizes exemplary clinical practice, extraordinary service, and compassion and caring demonstrated by nursing staff with The DAISY Award® for Extraordinary Nurses.

The DAISY Awards

The DAISY Award was established in 1999 by grieving parents who wanted to honor the skilled and compassionate nurses who cared for their son before he died. More than 5,000 healthcare facilities and schools of nursing worldwide currently recognize nurses with The DAISY Award, a practice that evidence suggests can contribute to a healthy work environment, increase nurse engagement and improve patient and family experience.

We congratulate our 2022 DAISY Award winners:

Taylor Houlette, RN
February 2022
Heart Center

Julie Akin, BSN, RN
March 2022
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Oncology Unit Team
May 2022

Mary Ann Artus, BSN, RN
June 2022
Clinical Informatics

Margarita Barrera, RN
August 2022

Betzi Grogin, BSN, RN, CCRP
September 2022
Cardiac Wellness

Lori Palm, RN
November 2022
Intensive Care Unit/Critical Care Unit

Dana Rogers, RN
November 2022
Intensive Care Unit/Critical Care Unit

Sheryll Randazzo, BSN, RN, CMSRN
December 2022
Telemetry/4th Tower

Group of nurse award winners from the Oncology unit.
Team DAISY 2022 was awarded to the Oncology Unit, acknowledged during Hospital Week.
Nurse of the Year winner posing with others.
Nurse of the Year Award Every year, Salinas Valley Health honors a nurse who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment, skill and compassion in caring for our patients, their families and our community.
Our 2022 Nurse of the Year was: Sheilah Quentin, BSN, RN, CAPA Pre-Admission Testing

Exemplar Awards

Nurses at Salinas Valley Health are encouraged to heal, protect, empower and teach. Each year, nurses are recognized for exemplifying each of those four tenets of our mission.

The 2022 Nursing Exemplar Awardees were:

Barbara Domalaog, BSN, RN
Intensive Care Unit/Critical Care Unit

Abigail Acosta, MSN, RN, CPAN, CAPA
Post Anesthesia Care Unit

Raquel Ramos, BSN, RN
Telemetry/5th Tower

Jovita Dominguez, BSN, RN
Observation Care Unit

Paying Tribute to Outstanding Physicians

Collaboration between physicians and nurses is essential in ensuring the best possible outcomes for our patients. In recognition of the unique relationship that exists between these teams of professionals, Chief Nursing Officer Lisa Paulo worked with medical staff to create a tribute for physicians who actively promote a culture that embraces, expects and rewards the delivery of patient and family-centered care.

The 2022 Excellence in Service and Professionalism Honoree and those recognized were:

Physician Excellence in Service and Professionalism Honoree
Eshan Labroo, MD, Family Medicine

Physician Excellence in Service and Professionalism Awardees
Cedrick Bradley, MD, Family Medicine
Jaime Gonzalez, MD, Family Medicine
Harlan Grogin, MD, Cardiac Electrophysiology
Kenneth Jones, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Bruce Kaufman, DO, Internal Medicine
Gopal Krishna, MD, Nephrology
Erica Locke, MD, Emergency Medicine
Cristina Martinez, MD, Emergency Medicine
Katherine Noel, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
David Ramos, MD, Emergency Medicine
Nadine Semer, MD, Palliative Medicine
Hong Zhao, MD, Hematology and Oncology

Recommended Articles